The 15th Moet British Independent Film Awards Announced – |

The night’s big winner was Berberian Sound Studio, shot at London’s 3 Mills Studios, which took home Best Director for Peter Strickland, Best Actor for Tobey Jones, Best Achievement in Production and Best Technical Achievement. Other winning films included Broken, Sightseers and The Imposter, with young director Rob Savage being awarded the Raindance Award for his debut Strings.

Joint BIFA director Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson said, “It is wonderful to see so many films acknowledged by our jury which goes to prove what a strong year 2012 has been for British Independent film. We were delighted that so many of the winners were with us tonight to collect their awards and celebrate our 15th Birthday, along with a number of previous winners, patrons and friends of BIFA. We are extremely proud that the Moet British Independent Film Awards continues to highlight the extraordinary talent that is so plentiful within British independent film today.”

Sir Michael Gambon got a rousing standing ovation when he received the Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Film, which he accepted with an emotional speech, and Jude Law was clearly thrilled to be awarded with the Variety Award, in recognition for his efforts in focusing the international spotlight on the UK. Former London Film Festival Director Sandra Hebron was given the Special Jury Prize, for her outstanding contribution to British independent film.

The full winners are:

Best British Independent Film: Broken
Best Director: Peter Strickland, Berberian Sound Studio
The Douglax Hickox Award for Best Debut Director: Bart Layton, The Imposter
Best Screenplay: Alice Lowe, Steve Oram & Amy Jump, Sightseers
Best Actress: Andrea Riseborough, Shadow Dancer
Best Actor: Tobey Jones, Berberian Sound Studio
Best Supporting Actress: Olivia Coleman, Hyde Park on Hudson
Best Supporting Actor: Rory Kinnear, Broken
Most Promising Newcomer: James Floyd, My Brother The Devil
Best Achievement in Production: Berberian Sound Studio
Best Technical Achievement: Joakim Sundstrom, Stevie Haywood AMPS IPS (Sound Design), Berberian Sound Studio
Best Documentary: The Imposter
Best British Short: Volume
Best International Independent Film: The Hunt