Tribeca Announces 2013 Jurors – movieScope

In addition, the Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) announced the six individuals who will serve as jurors for the Tribeca All Access (TAA) Creative Promise Awards, presented by the Time Warner Foundation. The winning projects will be announced during the Tribeca Film Festival on April 25. The three jurors for the Latin America Media Arts Fund, including the Heineken VOCES awards, were also announced. Jurors for the TFI Sloan Filmmaker Fund were announced earlier this week.

The seven TFF juries will award $180,000 in cash and prizes. TAA will award an additional $20,000; $10,000 for narrative and $10,000 for documentary. Announced earlier this year, all winners will also receive a work of original art by an acclaimed artist as part of the Tribeca Film Festival Artists Awards program, sponsored by Chanel. In addition, TFI will award $130,000 in grants to Latin American film and video artists, including two $10,000 Heineken VOCES grants for Latin American filmmakers living and working in the United States.

Following is a list of all 2013 Festival and Tribeca Film Institute jurors and their respective categories.

World Competition Categories

The jurors for the 2013 World Narrative Competition are:
Kenny Lonergan: Academy Award®-nominated playwright, filmmaker and screenwriter.
Bryce Dallas-Howard: Multi-award nominated actress, director, writer and producer.
Paul Haggis: Academy Award®-winning filmmaker.
Blythe Danner: Tony and Emmy Award-winning actress.
Jessica Winter: Senior editor at Time magazine, directing coverage of the arts and culture.

The jurors for the 2013 World Documentary Competition are:
Whoopi Goldberg: The actress also makes her directorial debut at the 2013 TFF with the documentary I Got Somethin’ To Tell You.
Sandi Dubowski: Director and producer.
Joe Berlinger: Academy Award® nominated filmmaker and two-time Emmy Award-winning television producer and director.
Evan Rachel Wood: Actress.
Mira Sorvino: Academy Award®-winning actress.

Emerging Competition Categories

The jurors for the 2013 Best New Narrative Director are:
Stu Zicherman: New York-based screenwriter, producer and director.
Ari Graynor: Film, stage and television actress and producer.
Naomi Foner: Golden Globe-winning screenwriter, producer and director.
Radha Mitchell: Australian actress.
Tony Gilroy: Screenwriter and director.

The jurors for the 2013 Best New Documentary Director are:
Taraji P. Henson: Actress.
Josh Radnor: Actor, writer and director.
Jared Cohen: Founder and director of Google Ideas, senior fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and an author.
Riley Keough: Actress.

Short Film Competition Categories

The jurors for the 2013 Narrative Short Film Competition are:
Sheila Nevins: President of HBO Documentary Films.
Kassem Garaibeh: Actor, comedian, and co-founding talent of Maker Studios.
Jessica Hecht: Stage and screen actress.
Chris Milk: Artist, music video director and photographer.
Christine Baranski: Tony, Emmy, SAG and American Comedy Award-winning actress.

The jurors for the 2013 Documentary and Student Short Film Competitions are:
John Skipper: President of ESPN Inc. and co-chairman of Disney Media Networks.
Eva Longoria: Golden Globe-nominated and SAG and ALMA Award-winning actress, producer, businesswoman and philanthropist.
Bobby Flay: Acclaimed chef, restaurateur, Food Network star and cookbook author.
Jason Silva: Television personality, media artist, filmmaker and techno-philosopher.
Danny Strong: Actor and Emmy Award-winning writer.
Abigail Breslin: Academy Award®-nominated actress.


The jurors for the 2013 BOMBAY SAPPHIRE Award for Transmedia:
Jeff Gomez: CEO of Starlight Runner Entertainment.
Frank Rose: Bestselling author, speaker and digital anthropologist.
Thomas Allen Harris: Filmmaker.

TAA Creative Promise Awards

The jurors for the 2013 TAA Creative Promise Award—Narrative are:
Rubén Blades:  Panamanian-born musician.
John Forte: Grammy-nominated recording artist, composer, music producer, educator and activist.
Tea Leoni: New York-native and actress.

The jurors for the 2013 TAA Creative Promise Award—Documentary are:
Shola Lynch: Director, Producer and Writer.
Sol Guy: Culture ninja and social entrepreneur.
Rachel Dratch: Funny-lady best known as a cast member on Saturday Night Live.

TFI Latin America Media Arts Fund

The jurors for the TFI Latin America Media Arts Fund, including the Heineken VOCES awards are:
Julia Bacha: Brazilian media strategist and award-winning documentary filmmaker.
Carlos Gutierrez: Co-founder and executive director of Cinema Tropical.
Leonardo Zimbron: Latin producer.




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *