academy invites 135 new members

– . – Academy Invites 135 New Members

Academy Invites 135 New Members

Source: AMPAS

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended invitations for membership to 135 industry figures, chosen for their contributions to theatrical motion pictures. This is a figure lower than the maximum of 180 new members allowed in any given year, but those who accept will be the only new members introduced into the Academy in 2010.

The invitees include 20 actors, from Saw’s Tobin Bell to Up In The Air’s Vera Farmiga, Star Trek’s Zoe Saldana to Inglourious Basterd Oscar-winner Chrisoph Waltz. Other invitees include Toy Story 3 animator Angus Maclane, casting director Laura Rosenthal (I’m Not There), cinematographer Barry Ackroyd (The Hurt Locker), documentarian Morgan Spurlock (Super Size Me) and producer Jon Landau (Avatar).

For a full list of this year’s invitees, visit the Offical AMPAS Site