Galway Film Fleadh Awards 2013 – movieScope

Three Galway Hooker Awards were handed out to Saoirse Ronan, the festival’s special guest who captivated an audience earlier in the day with an engaging public interview; James Morris, the former Chair of the Irish Film Board for his inspiring and enduring legacy with the Irish film industry; and Miriam Allan, Managing Director and Co-founder of the Galway Film Fleadh, who received a surprise award from the President of Ireland Michael.D.Higgins for her on-going commitment and dedication to the Irish Film Industry.

There was a long list of awards given to films in the Irish and international sections, covering features, shorts and documentaries.

In the Features Audience Awards, Run & Jump from director Steph Green took the Best Irish Feature Award, as well as the Best First Irish Feature (in Association with Crowe Horwath). Best International Feature went to the mocumentary Discoverdale directed George Kane. Boy Eating The Birds Food, directed by Ektoras Lygizos took the Best International First Feature award.

In the Shorts Jury Awards, The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film went to DoP James Mather for The Girl. The Tiernan MacBride Award for Best Short Drama (in association with Network Ireland Television) was given to Mechanic, co-directed by Tom Sullivan and Feidhlim Cannon. Rubai by Louise Ni Fhiannachta got a special mention in the Tiernan MacBride Award and went on to win the Best First Short Drama (in association with Mazars).

In the animated shorts section, The Missing Scarf, directed by Eoin Duffy, won The James Horgan Award for Best Animation (in association with Telegael). A Special Mention was given to Coda by Alan Holly, which was later presented the Don Quijote Prize from The International Federation of Film Societies. Best First Animation Award (in association with Cartoon Saloon) went to Rory Kerr for That’s Not Supposed to Happen. The winner of the 30 Minute Film Festival, the minute-long-shorts fest held within the festival was won by Robert Gaynor for his film, The Canon.

In the documentary section, Best Irish Feature Documentary was won by Vico Nikci for Coming Home, which was also given The Best Human Rights Documentary in association with Amnesty International. Plot for Peace by directors Carlos Agullo’ and Mandy Jacobson took the Best International Feature Documentary award. The Best Short Documentary Award (in association with Teach Solas) went to The End of The Counter by Laura McCann

The Bingham Ray New Talent Award, given in association with Magnolia Pictures, went to actress Kelly Thornton for her portrayal of Emma in Life’s a Breeze.




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *